RI CRIMINAL DEFENSE LAWYER
RI DUI ATTORNEY
Rhode Island DUI Attorney
- Rhode Island DUI Attorney Albert J. Vitali III is in court every day fighting for his clients
- Conveniently located in Providence next to the courthouse
- Attorney Vitali will work with you to make retaining him affordable
- Al is a former prosecutor that prosecuted chemical tests so he knows how to win
- Al fights hard for his clients to get them the best outcome
If you live in Rhode Island and have are charged with a DUI, you need to take this charge very seriously. If you don’t seek the advice of an experienced Rhode Island DUI Attorney, you are at risk of losing your license, paying steep fines and even going to jail.
DUI’s in the State of Rhode Island:
Like most states, driving a vehicle (car, motorcycle truck, boat or other motor vehicle) with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or above is against the law. There are exceptions to this limit:
- Anyone driving a commercial vehicle may receive a DUI for a BAC of 0.4
- Drivers under 21 can receive aa DUI with a BAC of 0.2
Besides alcohol, you may also get a DUI by driving after ingesting controlled substances like:
- Other illegal or legal drugs that can alter the ability to drive a vehicle
Hire a Highly Qualified Rhode Island DUI Attorney
If you are arrested for a DUI in our state, it is critical that you get the best Rhode Island DUI attorney you can afford. It is important that you retain a local attorney since they know the state driving laws and recent changes in local laws that could impact your case.
Your best choice for legal representation is Rhode Island DUI Attorney Albert J. Vitali III. Vitali is well-qualified and previously served as Rhode Island Special Assistant Attorney General from 2016 through 2019. During his tenure he was appointed to prosecute Chemical Test Refusal Cases, a high-profile position that garnered him vast experience dealing with DUI’s. In that role he prosecuted criminal cases throughout the state. He has seen how the legal system works from both sides.
Today, Attorney Vitali is one of the top Rhode Island DUI Attorney’s. His office is next to the Providence courthouse, making it easy for clients that are due in court. Attorney Vitali prides himself on:
- Being in court nearly every day fighting for the rights of his clients
- Offering a variety of payment options, making it easy for clients to retain his services
- Having a vast knowledge in chemical testing after specialized training during his tenure as Attorney General
- Fighting for the best outcome for each client
Strong, Impressive Background
Albert Vitali received his B.A from the University of Rhode Island and his J.D. from the University of Massachusetts School of Law. Two very impressive schools. He received firearms training and ATF firearms training at the Rhode Island State Police Academy. He also attended the “Street Crimes and Gang Investigator School”. Along with a wealth of training and first-hand experience, he stives to get the best outcome for his clients.
If you are accused of driving under the influence, make sure you seek representation from the best Rhode Island DUI Attorney, Albert J. Vitali III. For more information make an appointment at 401-205-8988.
DUI (also known as DWI or OUI) criminal charges in Rhode Island
- Maximum Incarceration Time: Imprisonment for 1 year.
- Maximum Fine: $500.
- Loss of License: Maximum 6 months.
- Community Service: Maximum 60 Hours.
2nd Offense within 5 years:
- Mandatory Minimum of Imprisonment of 6 months, not to exceed 1 year.
- Max. Fine: $1000.
- Loss of License 2 years from date of completion of sentence imposed.
3rd Offense within 5 years:
- Mandatory Imprisonment of not less than 3 years nor more than 5 years.
- Max Fine $5000.
- Loss of License: 4 years from date of completion of sentence imposed.
In Rhode Island, and in all states, it is against the law to drive a motor vehicle – a car, a truck, a motorcycle, a boat or any other motor vehicle - while intoxicated. If you are witnessed driving erratically or violating Rhode Island state traffic laws, the Rhode Island police – state or municipal - may stop you. If the police believe that you are intoxicated they may ask you to submit to a field DUI/DWI sobriety test. They may also measure your blood alcohol content by either asking you to submit to a Breathalyzer test or by requesting a blood and/or urine sample.
Driving with blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or above is illegal. The .08 percent limit is the metric used by all states to establish whether or not a vehicle driver is ‘drunk’ or ‘impaired. However, this limit does not apply to all drivers:
- drivers with commercial driving licenses have a blood alcohol concentration limit of 0.4
- drivers under-the-age of 21 have a blood alcohol concentration limit of 0.2
The Rhode Island DUI law includes DUI (driving-under-the-influence) of controlled substances e.g marijuana, cocaine, and variety of other drugs. If you have been charged with DUI ( driving-under-the-influence ) in Rhode island, also known as DWI (driving while intoxicated) or OUI (operating under the influence), you need a highly qualified, talented, DUI attorney who:
- will aggressively protect you interests
- has a successful background in criminal defense proceedings
- who is available when you need help
- who supports drunk-driving clients in all Rhode Island towns
Why take a chance! Engage RI Criminal Lawyer Albert J. Vitali III to defend you!
Take the first steps to defend a Rhode Island DUI Charge
If you have been charged with DUI, DWI or OUI you are aware that you will be charged with any of these crimes, it is extremely important that you take the steps to protect yourself throughout your criminal trial proceedings.
Your first step would be to meet with Criminal Attorney Albert J. Vitali III, who has a strong, successful, record as a criminal defense lawyer. Without a strong legal defense, you could face serious jail time and fines.
The following is a list of applicable Rhode Island state laws:
DUI, OUI and DWI Motor Vehicle Offenses
Index Of Sections
- § 31-27-2.2 Driving under the influence of liquor or drugs, resulting in death.
- § 31-27-2 Driving under influence of liquor or drugs.
- § 31-27-2.1 Refusal to submit to chemical test.
- § 31-27-2.3 Revocation of license upon refusal to submit to preliminary breath test.
- § 31-27-2.4 Driving while in possession of controlled substances.
- § 31-27-2.5 Chemical tests to persons under eighteen (18) years of age – Refusal – License suspension.
- § 31-27-2.6 Driving under the influence of liquor or drugs, resulting in serious bodily injury.
- § 31-27-2.7 Driving while impaired.
- § 31-27-2.8 Ignition interlock system imposed as part of sentence – Requirements.
- § 31-27-2.9 Administration of chemical test.
- § 31-27-3 Right of person charged with operating under influence to physical examination.
- § 31-27-3.1 Annual Impaired Driving Report.
- DMV license suspension fees
Rhode Island DUI Attorney Office